Yellowface : a novel
(Large Print)

Book Cover
Status
Morrisson-Reeves Library - Richmond - Large Print General Fiction
LP F K953y
1 available

Description

Loading Description...

Also in this Series

Checking series information...

Copies

LocationCall NumberStatus
Morrisson-Reeves Library - Richmond - Large Print General FictionLP F K953yAvailable
LocationCall NumberStatus
Eckhart PL - Main - Large Print - Main LevelLP F KUANG r.f. YellowfacIn transit
Hussey-Mayfield Mem. PL - Whitestown - Adult Large Print FictionLP FIC KUANG, R.F.Available
Jackson Co PL - Seymour Main Library - New ItemsLRG TYPE FIC KUANGChecked out
Porter County PL - Kouts Public Library - Large PrintLP KUANGAvailable
Porter County PL - Valparaiso Public Library - Large PrintLP KUANGIn transit

More Like This

Loading more titles like this title...

More Details

Format
Large Print
Physical Desc
418 pages (large print) ; 23 cm.
Language
English

Notes

General Note
"Reese's Book Club"--Cover.
Description
"What's the harm in a pseudonym? Bestselling sensation Juniper Song is not who she says she is, she didn't write the book she claims she wrote, and she is most certainly not Asian American--in this chilling and hilariously cutting novel from the #1 New York Times bestselling author R. F. Kuang in the vein of White Ivy and The Other Black Girl. Authors June Hayward and Athena Liu were supposed to be twin rising stars: same year at Yale, same debut year in publishing. But Athena's a cross-genre literary darling, and June didn't even get a paperback release. Nobody wants stories about basic white girls, June thinks. So when June witnesses Athena's death in a freak accident, she acts on impulse: she steals Athena's just-finished masterpiece, an experimental novel about the unsung contributions of Chinese laborers to the British and French war efforts during World War I. So what if June edits Athena's novel and sends it to her agent as her own work? So what if she lets her new publisher rebrand her as Juniper Song--complete with an ambiguously ethnic author photo? Doesn't this piece of history deserve to be told, whoever the teller? That's what June claims, and the New York Times bestseller list seems to agree. But June can't get away from Athena's shadow, and emerging evidence threatens to bring June's (stolen) success down around her. As June races to protect her secret, she discovers exactly how far she will go to keep what she thinks she deserves. With its totally immersive first-person voice, Yellowface takes on questions of diversity, racism, and cultural appropriation not only in the publishing industry but the persistent erasure of Asian-American voices and history by Western white society. R. F. Kuang's novel is timely, razor-sharp, and eminently readable."--,Provided by publisher.

Reviews from GoodReads

Loading GoodReads Reviews.

Citations

APA Citation, 7th Edition (style guide)

Kuang, R. F. (2023). Yellowface: a novel (First Harper Large Print edition.). Harper Large Print, an imprint of HarperCollins Publishers.

Chicago / Turabian - Author Date Citation, 17th Edition (style guide)

Kuang, R. F. 2023. Yellowface: A Novel. Harper Large Print, an imprint of HarperCollins Publishers.

Chicago / Turabian - Humanities (Notes and Bibliography) Citation, 17th Edition (style guide)

Kuang, R. F. Yellowface: A Novel Harper Large Print, an imprint of HarperCollins Publishers, 2023.

MLA Citation, 9th Edition (style guide)

Kuang, R. F. Yellowface: A Novel First Harper Large Print edition., Harper Large Print, an imprint of HarperCollins Publishers, 2023.

Note! Citations contain only title, author, edition, publisher, and year published. Citations should be used as a guideline and should be double checked for accuracy. Citation formats are based on standards as of August 2021.

Staff View

Loading Staff View.